Posted by: Clare | December 16, 2009

Ten on Tuesday (1) (On Wednesday)

Since I have been so bad at updating this so far, I figured that getting something, anything down on paper screen might help me get this thing going. So, I give you my first Ten on Tuesday by Roots and Rings post. It’s Wednesday, but just go with it.

1. If you could change anything about your physical appearance, what would it be?
My weight. This would be my answer in general, but it is especially true now. I have gained a lot in the past 18 months or so. Luckily it actually IS something I can change, I just have to really focus on working out again, I’ve been a real slacker. If I could change something that I don’t really have control over I would like more manageble hair.

2. Is there a habit in others that you find annoying?
The sound of cracking knuckles really grinds my gears.

3. What is your favorite recipe using ground beef?
I’ve been trying to cook a lot more in the last year or so than I did previously, but I have yet to make anything with ground beef. Odd. I always enjoy a good cheeseburger though, so assuming I could make a good one I will go with that.

4. What was your favorite book as a kid?
Oh wow, I read a LOT when I was a kid. A few off the top of my head: A Little Princess, Little Women, all of the Anne of Green Gables series, the Rose in Bloom trilogy, Pride & Prejudice, the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, White Boots, Ballet Shoes, the Faraway Tree, all of the Mallory Towers series, anything by Roald Dahl…and then of course the “trashy books”, Babysitters Club and Sweet Valley series.

5. Did you work as a teenager and if so, where?
In high school babysitting was my only real job. When I was around 13 I spent the winter giving unofficial ice skating lessons to random little kids who were struggling, but I didn’t get paid – I just couldn’t bear to watch them hating their skating experience and usually their parents weren’t doing much better, so I’d jump in and help. I did get many free hot chocolates out of it!

6. Did you work while in college and if so, where?
I didn’t work my first year of college but in the summer I worked in the kids club of a 24 Hour Fitness in Salt Lake City. I also did promotions at a couple of random events and temped at my Salt Lake mom’s company.
Second year I had a job doing promotions for a nightclub in my college town for a while. I had to stand outside in the evenings giving out flyers to people. I quit in December because it was too cold and I got sick of watching everyone else out having fun while I had to stand around in the cold watching them throw my flyers on the ground. That summer I was back in Salt Lake at 24 Hour Fitness, temping at my Salt Lake mom’s company, and I also picked up another job at Baskin Robbins.
My last year of college I worked all year at the campus store, I loved that job!

7. When you go to sleep do you like total darkness or semi? When you go to sleep do you need quiet or is some noise ok?
I prefer total darkness but I don’t often get it, I can sleep with either. A little noise is ok, but it depends on what it is. I think TOTAL silence might creep me out a little since I’m not sure I’ve ever had it.

8. When doing laundry, fabric softener or not?
I use those dryer sheets but not the liquid fabric softener.

9. Open toed or closed toed shoes?
I almost always wear closed toe shoes, unless I’m wearing flipflops.

10. Would you rather be blind or deaf?
I would not want to be either, but if I had to pick one or the other in say, a life or death situation, I’d go with deaf. I can’t imagine not being able to see the world, and people’s faces. I rely a lot on non verbal communication and wouldn’t want to lose that. I think as someone who has always been able to see and hear, that suddenly going deaf would be easier to adjust to than suddenly going blind.

11. Dangle or stud earrings?
My ears get really infected from earrings, even good quality ones, so I rarely wear them. I think the last time was around 3 years ago. It’s a shame because I love earrings as an accessory on others.

12. Bottled water or tap?
I usually drink bottled water, but I wouldn’t say I’m against tap water or anything!

13. What do you put on pancakes?
On American pancakes, a little butter, and a lot of syrup. Or just syrup. On English pancakes (they are more crepe-like), lemon and sugar. YUM.

14. On a long trip would you rather drive or fly?
It depends on how long I have to take the trip, and where it is to. I love roadtrips, but I also see the advantage of reaching your destination fast!

15. Do you prefer classic old movies or new?
I love both!

Responses

  1. Thanks for joining the party! Same time next week. (Actually a day earlier… but you know what I mean!) Next week’s questions are provided by Sarah at Sojo Blog, I see you follow her.

    I crack my knuckles. Can we still be friends?

    • haha after all the people posting saying they hate when people are late, I felt a little self conscious posting this a day late…I’ll try and make it on time next week!

      You introduced me to the word “Jaludey” which may now be what I will forever refer to Holidays as, so yes, we can absolutely be friends despite your disgusting habit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

