Posted by: Clare | January 6, 2010

Roadtrip Games

Last Friday (January 1st), I took a random roadtrip. I don’t do things by halves, so this wasn’t just a quick drive to a town close by. No, I went on a 1,179 mile roadtrip. Not just on Friday of course, I’m not superhuman. I turned it into a weekend thing. I set off on Friday afternoon at around 2pm and arrived in Tulsa, Oklahoma (491 miles) that night. On Saturday I drove up into Kansas and visited Coffeyville, the town where my grandmother was born, and Independence. I then drove back south to Oklahoma City (300 miles that day), spent the night there and returned to Austin on Sunday (388 miles). I’ll write about the places I went soon, but first a note on Roadtrip Games.

When I was little, I didn’t have as many roadtrip experiences as most American kids seem to have had. Occasionally we would drive somewhere semi-far within California while we were visiting my grandmother, but that was about it (as far as I can remember, anyway). I don’t remember playing all the traditional roadtrip games on those drives. So on this roadtrip, I decided to play spot the license plates from different states (is there a catchy name for this? I have no idea). Although I was by myself, I still got really excited every time I saw a new state. When I got home, I decided to print out a map of the country and mark off all the states I had seen plates for on this trip. Yes, I am a big nerd. I even colored it.

The red line is the approximate route I took (the same roads there and back, there aren’t many options) and the colored states are the plates I spotted. I don’t really have anywhere to go with this, I just felt that my dorkiness should be documented.

And yes, you’d better believe I was excited when I spotted that Maine plate!

Leave a Reply

Categories

