Posted by: Clare | January 19, 2010

Ten on Tuesday (5)

It’s Ten on Tuesday time! Head over to Roots and Rings to see other people’s answers.

1. Favorite book(s) when you were a child and why?
Oh wow, I loved so many books, I was a big reader. A few that come to mind: A Little Princess, Ballet Shoes, The American Girls Series (all of them, but my favorite was probably Molly. I was mildly obsessed with stories about children during World War II for some reason)

2. First “grown-up” book you remember reading (i.e. written for adolescents or with adult themes, such as The Outsiders or Catcher in the Rye).
I LOVE The Outsiders! I’m not sure what my first adult themed book was, possibly Pride and Prejudice. I read so much that once I was over the hump of reading books without pictures (which happened early), I would read anything I could get my hands on.

3. Favorite movie that came from a book (even if you didn’t read the book and just love the movie).
Bridget Jones, Swallows & Amazons, A Little Princess (the 1986 made for TV version), Ballet Shoes (the 1975 made for TV version), Sleepers.

4. Movie that you loved so much that you WISHED there was a book out so that you could find out more about the movie.
I honestly have no idea.

5. Worst book you’ve ever read?
I must have blocked it out of my memory!

6. Book that everyone raves about that you either a) haven’t read and feel slightly dumb for not having read it or b) have tried to read and hated and so feel slightly dumb that everyone is getting something you don’t.
Wicked. I just couldn’t get into it so I gave up after a few attempts. Also, Twighlight, I haven’t even tried.

7. If you were forced to choose only 3 books that you could read for the rest of your life, which ones would they be? (Or if you were stranded on a desert island, which 3 books would you want there with you?).
A Little Princess, The Bible, A survivor skills book of some kind.

8. Name one book that if you could recommend that everyone you know read, what is it?
I’m reading The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A.J. Jacobs right now. I haven’t finished it yet but so far it is both hilarious and insightful. I’d definitely recommend it, whether you consider yourself religious or not.

9. What is your “guilty pleasure” reading?
Chick Lit. Although I’m not guilty about it!

10. What book (excepting the Bible or other major document of your religion/faith) has changed your outlook on life the most?
I’m not sure that I’ve found a book yet that has done that for me. I take something from a lot of what I read.

Responses

  1. I love The Outsiders too. You’re the second person to put Wicked. Hmmm maybe I shouldn’t read it.

    I don’t feel too guilty about my chick lit decisions.. I just always think “I should probably be spending my time doing something else… Or reading something more substantial.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

