Posted by: Clare | January 29, 2010

Seven Quick Takes Friday (1)

I love lists, so Seven Quick Takes Friday, hosted by the Conversion diary is pretty much perfect for me.

1. I went to see an allergy doctor yesterday. FINALLY. For about ten (10. that’s TEN) years now I have suffered from insane allergies. To everything! Moving to Austin five years ago was not a wise idea in relation to these allergies, as it is the Unofficial Allergy Capital of the World. We have some kind of allergy inducing item that is high during every month of the year, and i my friends am allergic to each of these items. Not fun. So anyway, the allergy doctor looked in my nose (gross) and said “wow! this is the most blocked nose I’ve seen in years!” and then after my checkup took this further by saying “you have the worst allergies I’ve seen in years!” Um, thanks Doc…good to know I win at something.

2. Speaking of winning, one of my bosses bought gift certificates from his son who is raising money for his high school for something or other, and he did one of those “whoever guesses the closest number wins the gift certificate” thingys. I won! $20 to a local car wash. Which sadly, even though the other one was to a pizza place, was the one I really wanted. Because I am apparently really boring and things like money off a car detail rock my world. I was very excited, because I don’t often win things.

3. I am starting to pull together lists of places I want to apply to for jobs. These lists are intimidating.

4. I have become mildly obsessed with the idea of moving to LA for a job after I graduate. I don’t know why, maybe it’s because I think of it as a “home” because of my history with the city.

5. I really want to start from scratch moving to a new apartment and decorating it with different things than I have now. Except maybe my bed, I’d keep my bed. Hopefully wherever I move it will be somewhere with a job that pays enough to allow me to purchase new furniture. And to a place that allows me to paint the walls.

6. I ate a peanut butter & jelly sandwich on Wednesday and I have been craving another one ever since.

7. Austin was beautiful for a week or so, but today it is ridiculously cold (for Central Texas. I’m sure people in Michigan or Minnesota or anywhere cold would consider this vacation weather right now, but it’s all relative, I’m freezing!) and I am not happy about it.

Responses

  1. I surely hope your new allergist will FIX it all instead of just being disgustingly fascinated!

    Mmmm…PB&J. Never goes out of style 🙂

    • Haha I hope so too! I have to go back in a month to get tested because it’s been a few years (although I can easily tell him what I am allergic to: EVERYTHING!) and then after that I am probably going to try the allergy shots. In the meantime he gave me enough medication to rival that of an 85 year old, which will hopefully work!

  2. My husband suffers from terrible fall allergies, ragweed! Hope you can get some relief.

    • ugh, I sympathize with your husband, it is NOT fun! Thank you =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

