Posted by: Clare | February 3, 2010

Ten On Tuesday (on Wednesday) (7)

I’m such a slacker! Go check out Roots and Rings to visit the Ten on Tuesday host, Chelsea, and links to other people who probably do know the difference between Tuesday and Wednesday, which I apparantly do not.

1. What is your favorite travel destination spot?
I am lucky enough to have traveled a fair amount, and would love to go back to everyplace I have been. However there are so many places I have yet to visit, so I love going to new places too. It is impossible for me to pick a “favorite” place.

2. Cats vs. Dogs.
I suffer from extreme allergies, so neither of these animals are my ideal roomate. However, dogs make me want to die slightly less, plus they come in hypoallergenic non shedding versions (that still have hair, unlike the creepy hairless cats that are out there waiting to haunt me in my nightmares) so I will say dogs. But not big dogs, because I was bitten IN THE EYE by a big dog when I was 11, and I am still not over it. But that is definitely a story for its own post.

3. Do you believe in fate?
Sort of. This is a tough one. I believe that there is a higher power than us, whether you call it God (I do) or something else. And that perhaps some aspects of life are pre-determined. However, the fact that we also have free will fits into that somehow too so it gets confusing to me.

4. Do you believe in karma?
Not really, because bad things happen to good people, and good things happen to not-so-good people all the time. I do think that it is important to strive to be a good person though and that in many ways, if you are a good, kind person you will be rewarded for it, whether it is the warm and fuzzies from helping someone out or something more tangible.

5. Everyone has a unique laugh. Do you like yours?
I’m not really sure what my laugh sounds like to others, and when I’m laughing I’m too busy finding something hilarious to pay attention. Hopefully it’s not obnoxious!

6. Is love really all you need?
No. Although it would be really nice if it was.

7. What’s your take on the whole 2012 scare?
Pat Robinson (ugh) predicted that the world would end in 1982. I was born in 1982 (maybe he actually meant that the world would get a lot more awesome?) and I hate to tell him this, but the world is still here. I think people enjoy having something to be scared of to take their minds off of the more real threats to the world: war, famine, global warming, etc. Although the recent storms in California were a little too much like the preview for the 2012 movie for comfort. Tornado warnings in Long Beach? Ahhh!

8. If you won a million dollars and had to give it all away, who would you give it to? (Family and friends not included.)
A big chunk of it would go to Cancer research and patient care, because my dad died from throat cancer. The rest I would split between other charities I like, probably at least one clean water charity and at least one education/literacy charity.

9. Do you believe in God/religion/the power of prayer?
I think that “religion” is the cause of way too many problems in this world, but I do believe in God and in the power of prayer. I also think that even if all that the prayer provides is comfort to those who need it, that is a powerful enough reason to keep on praying.

10. What New Year’s Resolution do you always make but never keep?
My mistake is usually to set hard and fast resolutions, which are pretty much impossible to keep, and then I feel guilty the first time I break it and just quit altogether. That is why this year instead of making such a fixed resolution as “I will work out every day” I am going more with goals, “my goal is to work out for at least 30 minutes every day”. This way, if I don’t make it every day I won’t beat myself up, but I am still aiming to do it as much as I can. So far it’s working.

Leave a Reply

Categories

