Posted by: Clare | February 23, 2010

Ten on Tuesday (9)

Visit Roots & Rings for more Ten (or Eleven, in this case) on Tuesday fun.

1. What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
Growing up I was always a vanilla kid. I could walk into 31 Flavors (I don’t think they still call it that, I think it’s just Baskin Robbins now), see all of those exciting flavors, and still order just a cup of vanilla (I’ve always been a cup girl, I’m not a fan of cones). Now, I still like vanilla but it’s not the only flavor I’ll ever order. My choice depends entirely on my mood and what looks good to me that day. I can tell you what my favorite flavor is NOT though and that is any flavor involving chocolate. I LOVE ice cream, but chocolate ice cream is the food of the devil as far as I am concerned, it’s so gross. And my hatred for it only deepened further when I worked at Baskin Robbins in college and had to scoop the stuff.

2. What is your earliest memory?
I’m not sure of the exact order of some of my very early memories, but I think my earliest memory is from a day that my dad took me to a pub in Cambridge, England, I was probably two years old and I was wearing a dress. I’m not sure what color it was, but it had a full skirt that was perfect for twirling. He drank beer and I drank orange juice. I was dancing around to whatever music was playing, and someone (probably him but I have no idea) put me on the pool table. I showed off, dancing and twirling my dress. It’s a random, snapshot memory but it’s one of the very few extremely vivid memories I have of my father, so I love it.

3. What is your earliest memory of a dessert?
I’m not sure, but I do remember always stopping at Baskin Robbins for milkshakes when we were driving in California. Or maybe it is the birthday cake I had for my 5th birthday. It was a sherry bundt cake made by my mom, covered in frosting and sprinkles. I remember the frosting being extremely sweet.

4. Do you have any recurring dreams?
No, but I do have a recurring nightmare. I have it less often now than when I was younger, and I know it is ridiculous but it never fails to terrify me.

5. Have you ever dreamed about dessert?
I’m sure I have, but not that I remember.

6. What is one thing (aside from a cell phone or computer) that you cannot go the entire day without?
I’m guessing internet goes with computer, so I’ll skip on saying that. Also, I probably could go without that! I’ll go with hair brush.

7. What is one dessert you could go your entire life without ever having again?
See my thoughts in #1 on any form of chocolate ice cream. Also, Tiramasu. Everyone seems to love it, but I think it’s disgusting! I also have an intense dislike for chocolate eclairs (the pastry, not the English candy of the same name. I love the candy).

8. If you could go on vacation tomorrow, where would you go? (Assume someone else is footing the bill, but within reason…so “the moon” won’t work)
Australia/New Zealand.

9. If you could have any dessert tomorrow, what would you have (assume someone else is buying it for you. Within reason though, no “gold sprinkled ice cream cones.”)
Ice cream. Or a really good bread pudding. Or cherries jubilee. Or bananas foster.

10. What was your first impression of your significant other? If you’re single, what was your first impression of your best friend?
I have a few best friends, so I’ll go with my oldest, Alix. The first time I remember seeing her I think I was seven, and it was at a school picture day. I was a grade ahead of myself at the time, so I was in the grade above hers (I then stayed back a grade so was in her class the following year, which is when we actually became best friends). She was with a small group of girls from her grade and they were all being silly about something. The girls I was standing with from my grade (a year older than me) were saying that those girls were “so immature” (oh, eight year olds!), but I secretly wished I was playing with them. Alix had really cool curly chestnut colored hair, and freckles. I thought she looked just like a ragdoll, which I loved. Weird, the things you remember.

11. What is your first impression of dessert pizza? (Personally, I think it’s weird. I love dessert but I don’t want any on my pizza.)
That just sounds wrong.

Responses

  1. You hate chocolate ice cream??? Something is seriously wrong with you!

    • I used to hate anything chocolate! I grew out of that one in college. I still don’t like American chocolate candy bars though, they taste waxy to me – but give me some english or swiss chocolate and I love it. But yeah, given the choice I will always choose a non-chocolate based dessert over a chocolate based one. And I would rather eat nothing than chocolate ice cream! I’ve only ever met one person who feels the same way as me about that, I’m aware it’s not normal!


Leave a Reply

Categories

