Posted by: Clare | March 2, 2010

Ten on Tuesday (10)

It’s already Tuesday again, wow. Head over to Roots & Rings for other people’s answers!

1. If you were given an hour to use a $200 Amazon gift card, what would you buy?
I’d probably buy new pots and pans. I’m in desperate need now that I actually cook. If I had any money left over (I’m clueless as to how much pots and pans cost, but I think they are fairly expensive, right? So maybe I wouldn’t have any left) I’d buy a bunch of random books that look good.

2. Are there any fairly common foods that you’ve never had?
Not that I can think of. Oh, I suppose there are probably a few types of fish that are common that I have yet to try because I couldn’t eat anything from the sea for a long time (I was allergic but that allergy seems to have worn off. Thankfully because I am obsessed with tuna salad sandwiches). I think I’ve done pretty well at trying all kinds of sea creatures (most of them are “not my favorite”) since I realized I could, though.

3. What was your favorite way to use your imagination as a kid?
I would create little dream worlds and scenarios in my head. Usually based on books I had read. My friend Clio and I would build elaborate structures to go along with our worlds. A giant castle made out of cardboard boxes on top of the compost heap allowed us to be “Knights of the Cardboard Castle” (we then made Clio’s little sister the “Princess of the Cardboard Castle” and made her eat ‘soup’ made from sprite and dandelion leaves. yum).

4. What’s your favorite state? Why?
Oh wow, I can not answer this question! I have great memories of every state I have visited or lived in so far. I’ll give you a top 4, in no particular order:
California – Mountains, beaches, good climate. Plus I was born in southern California and spent much of my life visiting it (or looking forward to visiting it) because my grandmother lived there. So I have the family attachment to it.
Utah – It’s like being in a postcard. Plus it’s one of the few places where true neighborhoods in the 1950’s kids playing softball in the street and mom’s baking cookies still exist. Which I like.
Texas – I moved to Texas on a whim five years ago and even if I don’t stay here it will forever be the place where I truly became independent. My first time living totally alone, my first “real job”, graduate school, financial independence, my own car. This is where it has all happened. Plus, Austin is an amazing city.
Arizona – This is the only state on the list that I haven’t lived or spent significant time in. When I was driving to Texas from Utah I drove through a lot of Arizona (I took only 2 lane highways so there was no zipping through on the interstate) and it was insanely beautiful. I think my general mood combined with the landscape made the state leave a huge impression on me.

5. If it was our culture to have our parents choose our spouses, do you think yours would make a good choice?
Hmmm. My mom has very different taste in men from me, so perhaps not if she went by HER preferences. However, I like to hope that she would discuss with me what I am looking for in a husband and take that into account. If she did, she would probably make a good choice.

6. What’s your favorite herb?
I think I like the smell of mint best.

7. If you could have dinner with one celebrity, who would you choose?
Audrey Hepburn. If I could pick up even just a tiny bit of her poise and glamour from spending time with her I’d be thrilled. Plus I have a feeling she would be very interesting to talk to.

8. What’s your favorite Disney movie?
Peter Pan. I love them all though.

9. If you had to listen to the same song over and over for 24 hours, what song would you choose?
Any song would get irritating if it were on repeat for 24 hours! Probably something classical, like music from the Nutcracker or Vivaldi’s 4 Seasons, so I didn’t get annoyed by the lyrics by the 6th play.

10. How do you order your steak?
I’m so un-Texan in my steak ordering. I order any red meat “extra well done. No, seriously, burned is fine”. I get the heeby-jeebies if I see pink in my steak, it’s the one thing I will send back (I’m usually a “yes it’s totally fine” restaurant eater regardless of the reality). My dad was apparantly the same way, I wonder if meat cooking preferences are hereditary.

Responses

  1. I can’t even imagine eating a steak so well done that being burnt is ok! I’d be smothering it in steak sauce, haha! You’re just like my sister in that respect.

    • haha, my preference is actually just regular well-done, I don’t really like burned but I prefer it to seeing any pink (SHUDDER)! So many places (especially here in Texas where I am basically sinning by ordering my meat this way!) will still leave it a little pink even if you order it well-done, so I always throw on the “it’s ok if it’s burned” part to try get my point across!

      Welcome to my blog, by the way! I am now going to go read yours, because you have me hooked at the word “cupcakes”.

      • I once ordered a well done steak and my boyfriend just about had a heart attack! I think it’s hilarious how seriously people take this steak business.

  2. All great choices for states. Steaks definitely just medium. Hamburgers on the other hand, I love them almost burnt.

    • Once I was at a restaurant and I’m pretty sure my hamburger was still alive when they served it to me. Actual blood. I came so close to throwing up after my first bite. So wrong!

  3. So this comment has absolutely nothing to do with ToT but I wanted to thank you so very much for your comment on the NEDA posts over at Fatherhoody. I tried to find your email address but couldn’t so this public comment will have to do. THANK YOU for your support and encouragement on those posts and thank you for telling me about your own struggles. Hang in there. You’re beautiful.

    • Thank you Molly. You’re right, I don’t have an e-mail address anywhere on here, I should probably add one!

      You and your husband are wonderful people from everything I’ve read, and like I said on his blog, I REALLY appreciate you posting your story and admire your strength. I know I’m a total stranger, but if you ever need to talk to someone who has “been there” too (yet will NOT enable you!) I’m here.

      I’m so excited for Jack’s arrival to the world!


Leave a Reply

Categories

