Posted by: Clare | March 4, 2010

New Orleans Pictures – Friday, February 19th

I talked about my (now not so) recent 1.5 day trip to New Orleans here. So now I am finally getting around to the pictures!

Cafe Du Monde

Hot chocolate and beignet’s at Cafe Du Monde. Kate got cafe au lait but I’m not a big coffee drinker, and I’ve had it there before so I’ve done the oligatory “try the thing the place is famous for” already. The hot chocolate was delicious.

Someone put a Saints flag over the statue’s flag! I think they should leave it that way.

We were there just 1 week after Mardi Gras (actually, not even a week – it was the Friday after Fat Tuesday, so just a few days) so there were Mardi Gras decorations everywhere.

This is Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt’s house. Yes, we did look up where it was online and then go take pictures of it. Yes, we are aware that probably makes us really lame. Yes, we are totally ok with that!

St. Louis Cathedral

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter and I highly recommend it. Not least because this is the view of the French Quarter from the hotel’s roof. If that’s not enough to sell you on it we also got a really good rate, they have free wifi (not common in New Orleans) and they have free cookies in the lobby in the evenings. Free. Cookies.

They also have the world’s smallest pool on the roof.

Kate and me in a jazz bar on Frenchman Street. I wish I could remember the name of it. It was low key and fun.

We accidentally wandered onto the location set of a Mardi Gras themed dream being filmed for the upcoming HBO show, Treme.

Kate and me in the courtyard of Pat O’Brien’s

Pictures from Saturday to come…

Responses

  1. beignets….mmmmmmmmmmm….

    • so good!

  2. I would have gone with you to Angelina and Brad’s house in a heartbeat!

    • I KNEW I liked you =)

  3. […] New Orleans Pictures – Saturday, February 20 You can read about the trip here, and see the pictures from Friday here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

