Posted by: Clare | March 10, 2010

Ten on Tuesday (11) on Wednesday, again

This week is insane for me. I have homework assignments due all over the place, doctors appointments, and of course my body has chosen the time I have the most going on to give up on me and get sick. Fabulous. I am running behind on pretty much everything, and probably shouldn’t even take part in Ten on Tuesday this week but I want a break. Visit Roots & Rings, the ToT host. And tell her how beautiful her baby ultrasounds are! (they are).

1. Of your current hobbies, which would you choose to spend more time, money, and effort on? Why?
Would we call working out a hobby? If so, that. I would spend more time, money and effort on that. Time and effort because I need to – I want to lose weight and be healthy. Money because if I could afford a nicer place to work out, a trainer, or new kinds of classes maybe I would enjoy it more (and then want to do it more).

2. List the two other hobbies/habitual activies (not chores) besides the one listed above that you regularly do now and didn’t choose in question one.
Read books, and blog.

3. Why are you spending time on the above two hobbies/habitual activies at all if you really wanted to spend your time on the first one you chose? …or to put it another way, what are these two hobbies/habitual activities fullfilling that the first one doesn’t if you don’t want to put all your effort into the first hobby?
I enjoy them more, and I don’t have to leave my house to do them. Blogging is fulfilling a need for social activity and communication that I have been lacking because I spoend so much time at home doing homework that my social life is a little neglected, so I love the interaction this gives me. Reading is actually something I would do more of if I had more time, but the little that I currently do helps rest my mind before bed, which is much needed.

4. Read John 3:16 in the bible… In what way does this passage affect you? What are your feelings towards these words, positively or negatively?
I think it’s beautiful. Whether you believe the bible literally (or at all) or not, it is just a beautiful concept. A parent giving the ultimate sacrifice for the good of their children.

5. M&M’s: nuts, no nuts, or peanut butter?
I don’t like American M&Ms (the chocolate tastes very different than English ones)…and actually I’ve never really been an M&M fan in general. But I am sad that I did not know the existence of peanut butter M&Ms! I need to try them.

6. Putting away the feeling of pride being a bad thing; what secretly/openly are you proud about yourself?
Moving to Austin on a whim without having been here, knowing anyone here, having a job or a place to live, and making it work.

7. Given one room in the house to do with what you want, not changing the actual size of the room and with all the money you would need, what would you do, and be specific? (this can range from bouncy floor,walls & ceilings; to hard wood floor with wood paneling and purple ceiling with a chair; to nothing)
Since I rent and can’t actually change fixings, etc. (if I could I would makeover either my bathroom or kitchen), I’ll say that I would redecorate my living room. Change out all the furniture and make it look totally different and be more comfortable.

8. What’s the next movie you’re going to see? Not what you’d LIKE to GO see, but the next movie you realistically are going to watch.
The next movie I plan on seeing at the theater is the new Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland movie. There are a couple others I want to see but I will probably end up waiting until they are on demand or netflix. The next movie I watch at home will be the Hurt Locker, I’ve been meaning to buy it on demand for a while now, and want to even more now that it’s won all those awards.

9. Use the keyboard only and make your best smiley/funny/cool face –> like this! 8^)
:p

10. What makes you cry? What makes you pray? What makes you laugh?
I cry very easily. I think my hormones are imbalanced right now for some reason, so I have been crying even more than usual, at absolutely nothing. It’s not fun! I pray about a lot of different things, and I laugh when I find something funny, or when I am uncomfortable. I love to laugh, I don’t think I do it enough.

Responses

  1. I had no idea that English M&M’s taste different than American (and Canadian) ones! Now I really want to try some.

    • All English chocolate tastes so different! M&M’s probably less so than other stuff, but I still remember them tasting different (better!). I know they sell Cadbury’s more widely in Canada but I don’t know if it tastes the same as the US stuff or not there. The US has to put extra stuff in their chocolate to meet food preparation requirements that makes it taste really waxy. To me, anyway. Next time I go to England I will buy chocolate and make little care packages for any blog friends who want to try! Like I said though, maybe the chocolate in Canada is more similar to England than the US? Not sure!

  2. I have no desire to see Alice in Wonderland. It looks way too scary for me!

    • I am a little scared of it too, but I think Tim Burton is amazing and I love the original Alice stories!


Leave a Reply

Categories

