Posted by: Clare | April 9, 2010

I wonder if there will even be snacks

A couple of days ago I bought my plane ticket to go to Costa Rica for a week in June for my global business class/capstone project. Wait, have I mentioned before that I am going to Costa Rica? I’m not sure. If not, hi! I’m going to Costa Rica in two months! This whole MBA program thing does not entirely suck! And I am saying this after being a zombie at work all week because I am running on approximately 1 hour of sleep a night due to paper writing! Costa Rica!

Anyway, have you bought a plane ticket recently? I travel a fair amount, but I maybe haven’t been looking at my receipts for plane tickets or something. Because yesterday I was forwarding my itinerary to my mom (you know, in case I disappear and someone is all, “well m’aam where was she last” – my mom can check my email and know at least which country I might be in. It’s a start). As I scrolled down to hit “send” on the e-mail I noticed this:

Fare Breakdown
Airfare: 387.00 USD
U.S. Security Service Fee: 7.50  
Costa Rica Tourism Arrival Tax: 15.00  
Fuel Surcharge: 240.00  
U.S. Customs User Fee: 5.50  
U.S. Immigration User Fee: 7.00  
U.S. APHIS User Fee: 5.00  
U.S. Federal Transportation Tax: 32.20  
Costa Rica Common Area User Charge: 4.23  
Costa Rica Security Fee: 2.62  
U.S. Passenger Facility Charge: 10.50  
Per Person Total: 716.55
USD
 
eTicket Total: 716.55
USD
 
 
 
The airfare you paid on this itinerary totals: 387.00 USD
 
The taxes you paid on this itinerary total: 329.55 USD

 

I mean, I haven’t been living under a rock or anything, I’m aware that airlines have been having problems, and I drive a car so I am fully aware that gas is expensive, but $240 for fuel surcharge? On a ticket worth $387? This blows my mind, y’all.

By the way, I have an English accent (well, it’s pretty much a mix at this point. English people swear I sound “so American” – which I do – and people here will say after about 5 or 10 minutes of talking to me, “do you have an accent?” – which I do – as long as I don’t sound like Madonna, I don’t really care that I have a hybrid accent), so it’s pretty hilarious when I write or say y’all. I write it far more than I say it, because I am fully aware of how weird it probably sounds coming from me, but sometimes it just makes the most sense.

Anyway, taxes of $329.55 on a $387 ticket? I kind of get the feeling that Continental is laughing all the way to the bank in this situation.

Responses

  1. I feel your pain. We frequently pay about $1300 per TICKET when we fly roundtrip Germany to Texas. It’s horrid. For that price, I swear we should get business class seats!

  2. […] year I visited Costa Rica for the first time! Anyone who has been around for a while may recall my complaints about the cost of the plane ticket, but thankfully my bitterness over that had subsided by the time I was ready to […]

  3. What’s up to all, the contents existing at this web site are really remarkable for people experience, well, keep up the good work fellows.


Leave a Reply

Categories

