Posted by: Clare | May 4, 2010

Ten on Tuesday (12)

It’s been a while since I participated in Ten on Tuesday. Go visit Chelsea and check out how freaking cute she looks pregnant. I can only hope that I look more like her and less like Verouca Salt post meal-in-a-stick-of-gum consumption when (if) I am ever pregnant.

1. Do you prefer markers, crayons, or colored pencils?
Probably crayons, though I like all of them. When I was a kid I liked colored pencils the best because I could color neater with them. I was a perfectionist when it came to coloring.

2. As a child, how did your parents celebrate your birthday? (Parties, cake, you pick the dinner, etc.)
Every year from my 6th birthday to my 11th, my mom would get a really cool cake (I mean, seriously cool. One looked like a big wedge of swiss cheese with a mouse standing next to it wearing the uniform for my school. Another year was a square cake with a full-on 3D fondant teddy bears picnic happening on top of it) made by Fitzbillies and I’d share it with my friends at school. With the exception of my 7th birthday when I had an American Flag ice cream cake from Baskin Robbins and my 11th, when I had a giant cookie cake. My birthday was somewhat of a big deal at that school because a boy named Alexis had his birthday on the same day, so I would bring the cake and he would provide some other treat and our class would have a party. On our 10th birthday our teacher took our class to Alexis’ house (he lived a block from the school) and his mom threw us an actual party instead of a double class period. On our 11th birthday we had crashers from other classes trying to get in on the awesomeness. My birthdays went downhill after 11 because I went to boarding school the fall before I turned 12. The tradition there was for everyone to sing happy birthday at breakfast. There is very little I hate more than people singing happy birthday to me, I get very awkward, embarrassed, and pretty much hate life.

3. How do you feel about leggings?
I have issues with leggings-worn-as-pants (with shorter tops). And I have issues with leggings on me. In general, I think that there are many people who wear them that probably shouldn’t, but I wouldn’t go as far as to say I’m anti leggings.

4. How do you prefer to follow directions? With a map? Words?
Words! For the love of God, words! Descriptions which include landmarks are helpful. If you use “North/South/East/West” in your description I will likely not make it to the planned destination anywhere near the scheduled time. I love Mapquest/Google Maps for their word descriptions (although Mapquest needs to get its act together on the “slight right”‘s, what does that mean?!). If I’m taking a really long trip (as in, cross country or something) I like to have a map for reference. More so I can say “yay, look I crossed these state borders” than anything else though.

5. What do you eat for snack?
Whatever is convenient. Fruit, toast, a one piece of bread sandwich, crackers and cheese… it totally depends on what is available.

6. Have you ever ordered anything from an infomercial or bought any As Seen on TV products?
I think I bought an As Seen on TV cleaning product at Bed, Bath, Beyond once. I don’t remember it blowing my mind.

7. What’s your favorite thing about summer?
Long evenings. Sunshine. Lake days. Pool time. Having a tan. Cookouts. I love summer!

8. Do you have a tattoo? What and where is it?
I do not.

9. Are you good at journaling?
No, and I’m not good at blogging either!

10. What’s your favorite way to eat a hamburger?
I cut it into quarters (or halves if it’s small) and then eat it like a regular sandwich after that. A full burger intimidates me. As for what I like on my burger: cheese, ketchup, mustard, pickles. I can deal with lettuce but if you try and put tomatoes or onions near it I will not be happy. I like a good bbq cheese burger every now and then, too. Well done, always well done.

Responses

  1. I own a box of crayons too! I love that I get to color with my nanny kids, it satisfies the kid in me!

    • haha you caught me before I finished editing! YES! I love crayons! I think I like them more now than I did when I was a kid.

  2. UGH! I also HATE it when people sing happy birthday to me. HATE HATE HATE IT. Especially when it’s a large group or in a public place.

  3. That’s so cool that you got to celebrate like that at school (pre-boarding school). And those cakes sound great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

