Posted by: Clare | May 11, 2010

Ten on Tuesday (13)

I have a few posts in my head but have yet to put…fingers to keyboard (? I can’t really say pen to paper, can I? Or do sayings like that just cross over even if it’s not literally true?), so here is another Ten on Tuesday. It’s hosted, as always by the fabulous Roots & Rings.

1. What was your high school superlative (if you didn’t have one- what would it have been)?
We didn’t do anything like this at my school. I think that people at the school I finished High School at had an inaccurate picture of me as I mostly was quiet and kept to myself there, so I’m not sure what I would have been. I was a big drama nerd so maybe something related to that, though I was very quiet and not very “jazz-hands” so I’m not sure that anybody really expected me to go into theatre long term. Hmmm. I truly have no idea!

2. What sports did you play in high school?
At my boarding school I played Netball and Field Hockey. I also ran the 75 metre sprint and did long jump. However I didn’t do any of these at what I would call a ‘real’ level. I didn’t get to be on the teams that played other schools, just intramural teams. I was very passionate and enthusiastic, I tried really hard, but I wasn’t all that good and the teacher disliked me so I never made a team. At the school I spent the last two years of school at I played Netball and I did make the team, but that’s because anyone who showed the slightest interest made the team, there were only 16 girls in my grade and a team has seven plus a few reserves so it wasn’t exactly highly competitive to make the team!

3. What was the best part about your wedding (if you’re not married yet, what are you looking forward to)?
I’m looking forward to having as many people I care about from different places in one place at the same time. I am excited to look around and see all the people I love there to share that moment with me. It’s very rare that anyone important from my life crosses paths with each other as they are so spread out across America and England.

4. It’s your last meal– what Appetizer, Soup, Salad, Entree and Dessert would you choose?
Appetizer: Spinach dip
Soup: Pumpkin bisque
Salad: Waldorf Chicken salad from CPK (with balsamic vinagrette)
Entree: Pear, gorgonzola and walnut pizza
Dessert: Vanilla ice cream with fresh strawberries and blueberries

5. What song is your guilty pleasure?
I try to embrace my love of uncool music, so I am not so guilty about it. If it’s cheesy pop, chances are I will love it – from any decade but the 90’s holds a special place in my heart.

6. What is your favorite professional sports team, and why do you like them?
Liverpool FC (football of the ‘soccer’ variety). I grew up obsessed with them for no real reason (I picked them to be my team when I was six years old) and I am still obsessed. I have cried tears of both joy and pain for that team many times over the years. I love sports in general though and have a favorite team for most sports.

7. What is your favorite reality show and why do you like it?
Biggest Loser recently became my favorite. It’s so inspiring. I like many other reality TV shows, but this is the only one that I actually get anything more than entertainment from.

8. How would you classify your home decorating style (modern, classic, french country)?
Right now it is “work with what I have”. My apartment is pretty modern (or, my decorating is, not the apartment itself) because 99% of my furniture was bought at IKEA. I am excited to start from scratch one day on a house or condo (ideally with an unlimited budget, which is probably never going to happen) – I am interested to see where my style would go with a blank starting point and money to spend.

9. Pizza- deep dish or thin crust? White sauce or red sauce? What toppings?
THIN CRUST! My favorites are either pear, gorgonzola and walnut (if you live anywhere near Austin, CRU has a good one and so does Taverna) or Hawaiian with as much pineapple as they will put on.

10. Favorite weekend getaway within a two hour driving radius?
I don’t think I’ve ever been on a weekend getaway within two hours. I love going to Port Aransas but that’s a longer drive. To be honest, I would love to spend a weekend with nothing to do right here in Austin! I am always running around on some deadline or other, a “free” weekend here would be great.

Responses

  1. I love cheesy pop music! I have way too much of it on my iPod.

    • you can never have too much cheesy pop 😉

  2. Your #3 is one of the things I really loved about my wedding. The only thing that stunk is that we couldn’t invite more friends to share in our celebration.

    • I definitely think it would be my favorite part! When I turned 21 my mom and I were randomly talking about my future hypothetical wedding and we agreed that part of the budget would maybe even be help toward flights for any of my friends who couldn’t afford it, because having the people I love there would be the most important thing.

  3. What a great idea!

    I’m still a bit sad about the people we couldn’t invite. I hope everyone understood that it was a budget thing. Between our two families, we used up a lot of our space, and then each of our parents had a ton more friends, which didn’t leave us with as many spots as we would have liked.

    Also, though, hindsight is 20/20, and there are a few things that I definitely would have changed with our wedding but I won’t mention those publicly just in case anyone affected were to happen across this comment. 🙂

  4. Having people from Canada and England all in the same place is the thing I’m most looking forward to about my wedding too. And yay for netball!! I try explaining it to people here as “basketball for girls”?

    • haha YES I’ve tried the basketball explanation too – but so many rules are so different than basketball! I’ve found myself many a time drawing netball courts on paper napkins to explain where the different players can and can’t go – and trying to explain the concept that it is a throw and catch game, that you can’t run with the ball or bounce it (I always hear my bitch of a P.E. teacher screaming “YOU CAN’T THROW IT TO YOURSELF!” when I get to that part).


Leave a Reply

Categories

