Posted by: Clare | March 3, 2011

Well, hello there Internet. It’s been a while.

I don’t have the best timing in my disappearance, I realize that the last post I wrote was about being laid off. It may have crossed your mind that I have been wallowing in misery eating Twinkies and $0.99 hamburgers from McDonalds, crying myself to sleep each night at having to face the horrifying reality that is the current United States job market. Or perhaps I sat next to the CEO of some amazing company on a plane and s/he offered me a job and I have been busy wearing power suits and yelling pretentious acronyms into my Blackberry while waiting in line at Starbucks for my Trenti (?!) Skinny Chai Tea Latte.

The reality is somewhere in the middle, as reality usually is.

I am still unemployed. I spend most of my days doing some combination of: trawling the Internet for jobs and applying to the few I find that I even remotely qualify for, babysitting/chauffeuring my friend’s children, talking myself into going to the gym (with an approximate 40 percent success rate to date), watching TV, and sleeping. Some days I am gung-ho and excited/positive about the future and some days I feel utterly despondent. I am battling becoming nocturnal, which so far has led to just not getting any sleep at all as I force myself to get up at a normal time, yet can’t fall asleep until three or four in the morning.

I am hoping that in blogging again my brain will be forced to engage in something more challenging than what the Real Housewives of Every City in America are up to, yet less stressful than writing the Ultimate Cover Letter. So, here I am. Hello!

Responses

  1. Brava daughterClare! You are doing the right stuff and it’s ok to feel sorry for yourself. Everyone I know who is unemployed feels that way, and angry too! So, keep doing what you are doing and when in doubt, go back to school! My Dad got his PhD during the Depression as there weren’t any jobs.
    love,
    ee

  2. This post totally made me snort laugh. Particularly this: “Or perhaps I sat next to the CEO of some amazing company on a plane and s/he offered me a job and I have been busy wearing power suits and yelling pretentious acronyms into my Blackberry while waiting in line at Starbucks for my Trenti (?!) Skinny Chai Tea Latte.”

    Great visual 😉 And glad you did not find a job doing that… but hope you find a good fit for you soon!!

  3. I came on here randomly to see if you were still posting…I haven’t checked in forever. Glad to see you’re still around. Hope all is well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

