Posted by: Clare | March 8, 2011

Deep in the heart of Texas, with pretty nails.

I suspect that this isn’t such big news outside of Texas, but OPI has just released their Spring 2011 nail polish colors, and they are inspired by the great state of Texas! If you know anything about Texans, you probably know that they (heck, I think at this point I can say we, I drink the Texas lovin’ kool-aid too after almost six and a half years of living here) are a very proud bunch. Proud being a polite way to say out-of-our-minds obsessed with how dang fabulous the state is, and don’t you forget it y’hear?

I first heard about the Texas Collection on Friday, and of course I turned immediately to facebook, where my Austin friends in turn were as excited as I had been to hear the news. In particular, we all oohed and ahhed over Austin-tatious Turquoise, and many references were made to it being the color of this summer. I am a sucker for turquoise shades, so I am thrilled that it is that one that is named for Austin. On Sunday I jumped at an invitation from my friend Monica to go for a manicure, and of course the shade I selected was Austin-tatious Turquoise.

Today, I heard from several friends that the color is sold out in stores around Austin, and even in some other stores in Texas. Texans have been fast to rush out and stock up. I will be heading to my closest beauty supply store on Thursday, when I am told a new order will be arriving, but until then I invested in a few other Texas inspired shades.

L-R: Do You Think I’m Tex-y? (I think this one will be perfect for toenails – I almost always go for reds/pinks on my toes), Don’t Mess With OPI, Suzi Loves Cowboys

Which colors in the Texas Collection are your favorites? What colors do you like to wear on your finger/toenails in general? I have a few go-to colors, but I love to change it up often and try different shades.

Responses

  1. All of those colors (and names) are fantastic! I’m coming to Houston in April for my BFF’s 30th birthday, I think that definitely calls for a Texas Pedicure! 🙂

    • If that’s not a good reason to get a Texas pedicure, I don’t know what is! There a lot of fun colors in the collection 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

