Posted by: Clare | May 7, 2011

100 to zero

My whole life I’ve been busy. In school it was homework, tennis lessons, netball, drama productions and babysitting. In college it was group projects, work and my friends. After college there was a period of time when I was working three jobs, and after that I worked full time, went to school at night and attempted to hold on to a vague semblance of a social life. Then on June 18, 2010 I was laid off. Two months later, I graduated with my MBA… and then there was nothing.

It’s said that looking for a job is a full time job. That’s a pretty accurate assessment and I threw myself into the task with vigor. What I didn’t expect, was for after just three days of trawling through the various job boards online and e-mailing my resume to everyone I could think of, depression to hit. It turns out that going from 100 to zero overnight, at least for me, is less a pleasant vacation for the brain and more a mentally exhausting battle to retain self-confidence. I learned that having just one task (and a depressing one, at that) is not my thing.

My solution? A road trip. A month-long, 18-state road trip, leaving a week and a half after I came up with the idea for it. I don’t really do things half way.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

Categories

